Multimedia Laboratory

Interview with photographer | Marton Perlaki

When did you first become involved in photography and why?

I chose photography by necessity. At high school I wanted to major in drawing but the school direction had been taken over by the Church and the drawing class was cancelled. So I ended up majoring in religion. Having thus given up drawing, encouraged by a girl friend of mine I went into photography.

Who are some of your favorite photographers and why do you admire their work?

I have been fascinated by the quiet, austere visual world of the works of Harry Callahan and Richard Avedon. I usually prefer photographers who – instead of using eye- catching technical innovations – create fresh and lasting value merely with their refined way of looking at things and with their very attitude towards photography.

What is your greatest experience as a photographer?

It is the creation itself and its process.

What equipment do you prefer to use and why?

I like handheld photography – that’s why I usually choose cameras that allow me free action during shootings. The fewer stands, lamps and other accessories I need to use the better I feel.

Describe your editing process (i.e. the way you go about selecting, retouching and printing your photographs).

Most of the time, I already have an idea during the shooting, which picture I am going to take at the selection. (If I am not the only one who decides – which occurs – the situation is more complicated.) At the end of the session I flip through the pictures and I order them into pairs. (If working with digital camera I make a couple of test adjustments on the computer already during the shooting.) I put aside the pictures I like “to rest” for a while. On the ones I still like even after two or three days I start the post production works (high res scanning, retouch etc.)

What are your plans and aspirations for the future regarding photography?

In May I am leaving for the USA for a while. Also for the future – pathetic as it may sound – my inmost desire is to make good pictures. As for the rest – time will show.

Leave a Reply

