Multimedia Laboratory

Interview with photographer | Diana Koenigsberg

Why do you take photos?

Photography is a form of communication for me. It is a vehicle for creating ideas that are layered and rich. Especially when shooting portraits, I have always felt that photographs validate our lives, and I love being a part of that.

Describe your start in photography.

I studied photography at San Fransisco Art Institute and then at Art Center College of Design. I then worked concurrently shooting editorial projects and assisting for 3 years, after which I was able to shoot full time.

Who are some of your favorite photographers and why do you admire their work?

Martin Parr, his images capture the imperfection and humor in humanity, while retaining a journalist’s objectivity. I love the work of Geof Kern, each of his images have a short story contained within them.

Lastly, I love Helmut Newton’s work. He loved women, but never photographed them as though they were objects. The women in his images are always sexy, confident and very present.

What is your greatest experience as a photographer?

My greatest experience as a photographer is every time I get to practice my craft. I love to work, and consider myself very lucky to be working.

What equipment do you prefer to use and why?

Photography is not about equipment for me, although it is vital to have the right equipment for each project. It’s about putting together just the right group of talented people, and then using the best equipment available to articulate my ideas.

Describe your editing process (i.e. How do you go about selecting, retouching and printing your photographs?)

I often do a first edit on set with my client so that we can determine that we are achieving our goal. I then do a second or third round of editing before sending the client 10 – 15 images from a single set up. I retouch simply to cleanup, and color correct most images. When head swapping or big stuff is required, I hire a retoucher to do that. I always over see the final files. Most projects no longer require printing as files are delivered either via ftp or on a hard drive. For my portfolios I print on an Epson 7800 large format printer. When selling prints I use Epson’s Ultra Smooth Fine Art paper.

What are your plans and aspirations for the future regarding photography?

My aspiration is to continue doing what I love to do, make photographs and get paid for it.

Leave a Reply

