Multimedia Laboratory

Interview with photographer | Jens Windolf

Why do you take photos?

I can’t properly answer the question because I suspended taking photos some months ago. It is very presumable that I will go back again some day and be able to answer your question.

 

Describe your start in photography.

I started in the beginning of 2008 with a point and shoot camera not exactly knowing why and how to do it. That attitude changed relatively fast and I became obsessed by questions regarding photographic methods as well as compositions.

 

Who are some of your favorite photographers and why do you admire their work?

I’m fascinated by the works of Thomas Ruff, Thomas Demand and Takashi Yasumura mostly because of the soberness they find in places or, like in Demand’s work, they are going to rebuild themselves.

What is your greatest experience as a photographer?

To be alone in an empty room. Just me and the space and all the time to find a point of view and/or an attitude.

 

What equipment do you prefer to use and why?

All of my work was done with a Mamiya 7II. I never used flashes or other artificial light sources. For me taking photographs was never incorporated to looking at photographs at the same time. I think I really detest digital photography because of that synchrony.

Describe your editing process (i.e. How do you go about selecting, retouching and printing your photographs?)

Selecting is easy because I always tried to avoid retouching. Sometimes I did ten or more exposures of one motive just to be sure to have done the right one. Sure, I did a little color corrections or dust removals.

 

What sets your work apart from others’?

That it is not going to grow anymore?! But to be more serious, I don’t think it is on me to answer that.

 

What are your plans and aspirations for the future regarding photography?

If I ever go back into photography I would like to work with large format cameras, spending even more time in the rooms I’m interested in and spending more time to file the negatives and prints.

Leave a Reply

