Multimedia Laboratory

Interview with photographer | Sabine Villiard

When did you first become involved in photography and why?

I was always involved in photography. I grew up seeing my dad taking pictures all the time. It was his hobby. I use to help him when he was developing in the dark room. I must have been 9 years old. I was always amazed by the picture appearing in the developing bath! So I grew up taking pictures of my dolls, pets and friends. I would always make a whole set and tell them how to pose, so it seemed natural to do fashion photography.

 

Who are some of your favorite photographers and why do you admire their work?

I really like a lot of photographers and get inspired by photographers, but also painters, sculptors, movie directors… To answer your question and only talk about photographers, I guess I would say I really like Guy Bourdin, for his sexy wittiness, Tim Walker for his fairy tales, Avedon for the truthfulness, Steven Meisel for his light and sets, and I could go on and on!

 

What is your greatest experience as a photographer?

Being able to be free.

What equipment do you prefer to use and why?

I started using digital only 2 year ago. At the beginning it was very strange for me. I wasn’t forced to do digital but since everyone was doing it, I also wanted to try it and see what was going on.  So now I do a lot of digital too and enjoy it. Even though sometimes I still use my good old Mamiya with films for personal projects.

 

Describe your editing process (i.e. How do you go about selecting, retouching and printing your photographs?)

For the negatives, of course I have a contact sheet. For the digital, I do the selection with Bridge. Then I create a file where I put a large selection made on Bridge and open each of these selections on Photoshop to be sure of the images. I don’t like to retouch too much. I usually work with Processus lab in Paris. They also do all my prints.

What sets your work apart from that of others?

Maybe my sense of humour and wittiness with an esthetic feeling? I don’t really know. I guess viewers can see things in my pictures that I don’t see!

 

What are your plans and aspirations for the future regarding photography?

I am happy doing what I believe in. I think everybody should believe in what they do, and do it. I am busy shooting for magazines such as Vogue and advertisements. I am also starting to do films and I continue doing some personnal work, maybe for an exhibition one day.

Leave a Reply

