Multimedia Laboratory

Interview with photographer | Bon Duke

When did you first become involved in photography and why?

I started to become involved with photography when I had to photograph my paintings. It was for university and scholarship applications. It was actually the first time seeing a slide and the image on it. After that I started to take photos and continued since then. I enjoyed the instant gratification and creating a photo.

Who are some of your favorite photographers and why do you admire their work?

Off the top of my head I would have to say Thierry Le Goues and Jean Paul Goude. Both  photographers have had a big influence on me. The colors that Thierry Le Goues captures and his portraits are so beautifully composed. I love Jean Paul Goude’s thought process and how he works when creating his images- how he visually creates a story in one photo and manipulates how an image is viewed.

What is your greatest experience as a photographer?

As a photographer there are several occasions but I have done more video/directing work which has been a great experience. I really enjoy putting a story together in a short film.

What equipment do you prefer to use and why?

I really enjoy using the Phase One 645DF with the p30+ for stills. It’s truly amazing and it gives me what I need for quality images. I wish my clients would still let me use film but, honestly, the Phase One backs really let me get the film quality I want. The process is different but, in the end my image still comes out the way I want. The Canon 5d mark II and RED camera for video. Usually the camera that I always have is an Olympus EP-L 2 camera.

Describe your editing process (i.e. How do you go about selecting, retouching and printing your photographs?

Before a shoot I have a preliminary sketch of the image I want to get. It sets a basis for each shot that I approach. This starting point helps within in my edit process.

Usually I shoot with Capture One and edit and tone through there for the first edit. Then bring it into Lightroom for PDF and Layout for proofs. Then final selection retouching in Photoshop. I usually print Digital C-prints or inkjet prints with the Epson 9880.

What sets your work apart from that of others?

A lot of my work is finding beauty that would not be expected from an image. Aesthetically most of my work has a darker tone overall. Creating an image that will draw in a person and invoke a feeling from them. I actually feel that I am still exploring my work and pieces I plan to do.

What are your plans and aspirations for the future regarding photography?

Currently I am working with a lot of video with my photography; looking into how video and users interact with media. Evolving with the technology and how it will change how imagery/video will be presented. It ranges and there no limits now with how media is shown. I have several short films that I am working on for 2011.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bon Duke’s latest video:

Leave a Reply

